Here is everything you have access to from off campus. There are 7 more Literature databases available when you visit the Sherman Library. Would you like to see?
Literature databases30 results. (See in alphabetical order)
Literary Criticism and Resources - Artemis - Gale Cengage Learning
This searchable database has a comprehensive collection of literature criticism, biographies, analysis, citations and more from the entire suite of Gale Literary products. The criticism covers all varieties of literature from the 1400s through the current.
Literature Criticism Online - Gale Cengage Learning
Presents a wide range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Includes criticism of drama, short stories, Shakespeare, classics, children's literature, and Western literature from the 1400's to the present.
Literature Resource Center - Gale Cengage Learning
Full-text database provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every time period and literary discipline. Also includes overviews of major literary works, Web links, timelines, Twayne's Authors, and Scribner Writers. Teacher resources available.
Alexander Street Literature - Alexander Street Press
Cross-searchable collection of databases containing literature, drama, and primary texts in postcolonial, black, gender, and regional literatures. It contains more than 3,900 plays and more than 450,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and essays from Africa and its Diaspora, Latin America, the Caribbean, Asia, and other regions.
American Film Scripts Online - Alexander Street Press
Provides accurate and authorized versions of 1008 copyrighted screenplays. Titles include Bringing Up Baby, Network, In the Company of Men, Drugstore Cowboy, Marty, Your Friends and Neighbors, The Thomas Crown Affair, Suspicion, The Shawshank Redemption, Fort Apache, Notorious, and The Last Detail.
Asian American Drama - Alexander Street Press
This edition of Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Black Drama - Alexander Street Press
This edition of Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore - Alexander Street Press
Black Short Fiction is the most comprehensive collection yet created of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora. When complete, it will offer more than 8,000 short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life.
Black Thought & Culture - Alexander Street Press
Provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.
Black Women Writers - Alexander Street Press
Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time.
Caribbean Literature - Alexander Street Press
Presents fiction and poetry of hundreds of authors in their original language. Also includes manuscripts, archival materials, interviews, photographs, and audio files.
ComicsPlus - Recorded Books
ComicsPlus: Library Edition brings thousands of digital graphic novels and comics to library patrons on any Web-connected device. Please create a free account in order to view and check out materials.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online - Gale Cengage Learning
Over 16,000 biographical and critical essays on predominantly American and British authors from all eras and genres.
Ebook Central - ProQuest
Ebook Central is the new platform for accessing the NSU Libraries EBL e-books. Subject content includes Science & Technology, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Health & Medicine. E-books are downloadable for offline reading in both PDF and EPUB or can be read online with the e-book viewer.
ProQuest databases will be unavailable from Saturday, 27 January, 2018, 10:00 p.m. (EST) through Sunday, 28 January, 2018, 6:00 a.m.(EST) for website maintenance. Thank you for your patience during this time.
eBook Collection - EBSCOhost
Ebsco eBook Collection provides full-text e-books and e-audio books in all subject areas. Current collection includes over 50,000 titles. Find e-books and e-audio in all subject areas and over 90 percent of the titles are downloadable. Many titles in this collection are shared with other institutions and have single-use access. Need help downloading ebooks? Try this guide!
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period - Alexander Street Press
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842.
Latin American Woman Writers - Alexander Street Press
Latin American Women Writers is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and revolutionaries, who address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region.
Latino Literature - Alexander Street Press
Latino Literature includes over 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays written by authors of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Central American, and South American descent living in the United States. The majority of works are in English, but approximately 25% of the collection is presented in Spanish. It also includes more than 6,000 pages of bilingual text and many Spanglish works.
Literary Index - Gale Cengage Learning
Master index to Gale series on literary biography and literary criticism. It indexes author names and titles, and provides citations to the print series.
Literature (Oxford Scholarship Online) - Oxford University Press
Full-text of books covering all areas of literature searchable by book or chapter. The coverage begins with 16th century, to American Colonial, Drama, Film, Media, Poetry, Shakespeare, and much more.
LitFinder - Florida Electronic Library Resource - Gale Cengage Learning
International in scope, LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. This includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 800,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 2,000 full-text speeches and 1,700 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.
North American Indian Drama - Alexander Street Press
This first release of North American Indian Drama contains 93 plays by 18 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes the Native Playwrights' Newsletter, a unique resource, containing a wealth of original essays, articles, photographs, interviews, reviews, and production information related to the plays.
North American Theatre Online - Alexander Street Press
Provides in-depth detail records for more than 10,000 plays, including many previously unpublished works by major authors; more than 1,000 playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera; and 40,000-plus pages of in-copyright reference texts.
North American Women's Drama - Alexander Street Press
This edition of North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Project Muse - Johns Hopkins University Press
Full-text ebooks and journals from scholarly journals and publishers in the humanities and social sciences, including arts, history, literature, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more. All ebooks and journals are fully integrated for search and discovery.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period - Alexander Street Press
In addition to 60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women, the database includes extensive contemporary critical reviews and numerous scholarly essays specially commissioned for the project.
South and Southeast Asian Literature - Alexander Street Press
South and Southeast Asian Literature is a searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas. Focusing on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras, the collection will also feature author interviews and manuscript materials that will shed additional light on the rich literary heritage and emerging traditions of this region.
Theatre in Video - Alexander Street Press
Contains performances of the world's leading plays and more than 100 film documentaries.
Twentieth Century North American Drama - Alexander Street Press
This edition of Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 1,386 plays by 209 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
University of California Press Journals - University of California Press
University of California Press Journals contains access to 31 peer reviewed publications covering humanities and the social sciences.