Here is everything you have access to from off campus. There are 13 more Arts & Humanities databases available when you visit the Sherman Library. Would you like to see?
Arts & Humanities databases
29 results. (See recommendations)A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
-
A
- 1.
ABC-CLIO Databases - ABC-CLIO
Provides access to two cultural resources: The African American Experience and Daily Life Through History. Includes ebooks, interviews, maps, images, audio, music files, and timelines.
- 2.
Academic OneFile - Florida Electronic Library Resource - Gale Cengage Learning
Provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 7400 primarily peer-reviewed journals in science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities, social sciences, and more. Full text is available for 3300 of the journals. Also includes podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full text for The New York Times.
- 3.
Academic OneFile Select - Florida Electronic Library Resource - Gale Cengage Learning
Available on the state-of-the-art Gale PowerSearch platform, Gale Academic OneFile Select provides 24/7 remote access to a balanced collection of academic sources. Perfect for a broad spectrum of students, faculty and other researchers, Gale Academic OneFile Select contains more than 5,300 titles; more than 3,000 full-text titles in a wide variety of disciplines, including more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals.
- 4.
American Film Scripts Online - Alexander Street Press
Provides accurate and authorized versions of 1008 copyrighted screenplays. Titles include Bringing Up Baby, Network, In the Company of Men, Drugstore Cowboy, Marty, Your Friends and Neighbors, The Thomas Crown Affair, Suspicion, The Shawshank Redemption, Fort Apache, Notorious, and The Last Detail.
- 5.
Asian American Drama - Alexander Street Press
This edition of Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Top - 6.
Black Drama - Alexander Street Press
This edition of Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
- 7.
Black Thought & Culture - Alexander Street Press
Provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.
Top - 8.
Credo Reference - Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides access to subject encyclopedias and handbooks on major subjects. Topic Page offers background information on a particular topic that can give you an easy starting point and pathways for further research. Mind Maps visually show relationships between topics and keywords.
Top - 9.
Daily Life Through History - ABC-CLIO
Provides full text information, maps, images, website links, etc. on folklore, cultures, and customs of peoples around the world from ancient times to the present.
Top - 10.
Ebook Central - ProQuest
Ebook Central is the new platform for accessing the NSU Libraries EBL e-books and former MyiLibrary ebook collections. Subject content includes Science & Technology, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Health & Medicine. E-books are downloadable for offline reading in both PDF and EPUB or can be read online with the e-book viewer.
- 11.
Essay & General Literature (H.W. Wilson) - EBSCOhost
Citations for essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works. Also provides full citations on collective titles indexed. Emphasis on the humanities and social sciences.
Top - 12.
Filmakers Library Online - Alexander Street Press
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum including race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. This release now provides 1,019 titles, equaling approximately 806 hours.
Top - 13.
Gale Academic OneFile - Florida Electronic Library Resource - Gale Cengage Learning
Provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 7400 primarily peer-reviewed journals in science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities, social sciences, and more. Full text is available for 3300 of the journals. Also includes podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full text for The New York Times.
- 14.
Gale Academic OneFile Select - Florida Electronic Library Resource - Gale Cengage Learning
Available on the state-of-the-art Gale PowerSearch platform, Gale Academic OneFile Select provides 24/7 remote access to a balanced collection of academic sources. Perfect for a broad spectrum of students, faculty and other researchers, Gale Academic OneFile Select contains more than 5,300 titles; more than 3,000 full-text titles in a wide variety of disciplines, including more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals.
- 15.
Gale In Context: Biography - Gale Cengage Learning
Provides coverage of the most searched and studied people throughout the world. It is built on a foundation of more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Additionally, it offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. Users can search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text.
- 16.
Gale Literary Index - Gale Cengage Learning
Master index to Gale series on literary biography and literary criticism. It indexes author names and titles and provides citations to the print series.
- 17.
Gale Literature Resource Center - Gale Cengage Learning
Provides bibliographies and critical analyses of authors from various literary disciplines. Features primary works in a variety of genres, up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews.
- 18.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy - Gale Cengage Learning
Covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. This resource supports a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues.
- 19.
Graphic Novels Core Collection (H.W. Wilson) - EBSCOhost
The growing popularity of this literary form makes it an increasingly important part of your school or public library offerings. Graphic Novels Core Collection highlights approximately 2,000 recommended titles with descriptive and evaluative annotations, plus cover art.
- 20.
Grove Encyclopedia of American Art - Oxford University Press
This acclaimed and wide-ranging searchable art encyclopedia has over 2000 entries and over 700 images on topics, terms and artists in the field of American Art. The encyclopedia covers many different eras from early sources right up to the present day.
Top - 21.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) - EBSCOhost
Provides citations for articles in the humanities and social sciences published 1907-1984.
Top - 22.
L'Encyclopédie Découverte - World Book
L'Encyclopédie Découverte offers World Book?s excellent editorial content and rich media in Canadian French. Based on World Book?s Student Discovery Encyclopedia, L'Encyclopédie Découverte is written by expert contributors at a reading level appropriate for younger users who are native speakers and readers of French, as well as older students and adults for whom French is a second language. The site offers simple navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of illustrations, and a wealth of engaging activities.
- 23.
LGBT Studies in Video - Alexander Street Press
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual people and the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. The collection will have cross-disciplinary relevance beyond LGBT courses, serving research and teaching in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, politica
Top - 24.
Making of America (University of Michigan) - Making of America (Michigan)
Making of America (MOA) represents a major collaborative endeavor to preserve and make accessible through digital technology a significant body of primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure. Funded originally by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, MOA sought to involve research institutions and national consortia to develop common protocols and consensus for the selection, conversion, storage, retrieval, and use of digitized materials on a large, distributed scale.
Top - 25.
North American Theatre Online - Alexander Street Press
Provides in-depth detail records for more than 10,000 plays, including many previously unpublished works by major authors; more than 1,000 playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera; and 40,000-plus pages of in-copyright reference texts.
Top - 26.
Project Muse - Johns Hopkins University Press
Full-text ebooks and journals from scholarly journals and publishers in the humanities and social sciences, including arts, history, literature, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more. All ebooks and journals are fully integrated for search and discovery.
Top - 27.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) - EBSCOhost
Provides 100 years of citations from leading U.S. magazines covering all subjects. Particularly useful for humanities and social science research, as well as for historical information on any subject.
Top - 28.
Theatre in Video - Alexander Street Press
Contains performances of the world's leading plays and more than 100 film documentaries.
Top - 29.
World Book Activity Corner - World Book
Activity Corner offers thousands of activities with easy, clear instructions, photographs, illustrations, and more. Every craft also contains a list of materials for easy reference and can be printed, e-mailed, or saved in its entirety to your personal computer.
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
L
M
N
P
R
T
W
If you have a current Broward County Libary Card, you can use your card number to get
immediate access to these 29 Arts & Humanities databases.
Find out how!
| Search Databases by Subject |
|---|
- {{ remote.subj_name }} ({{ remote.count}})
| Search Databases by Name |
|---|